One Year (and some change) with Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Just over a year ago in July 2011, I was diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease. You might remember me telling you that I have Crohn’s Disease earlier this year. Well I’ve been working on a pretty little picture that gives you an idea of what’s happened since disease onset to now(ish). I am by no means a graphic designer. I just like trying to visualize things.

So here it is:

One Year With IBDSo some commentary:

My more recent doctor diagnosed me with ulcerative colitis which really only affects the large intestine also known as the colon. This is somewhat a good news story as that means I am still getting nutrients from my small intestine and relatively okay because of that. And just so you know, all the symptoms I outlined for IBD most definitely have happened for me. But I consider my symptoms mild in comparison to some folks. I can still mostly function as a “normal” person in society (if you could argue I was normal to begin with).

Luckily lately I’ve been on prednisone, which is not a long-term solution, but it has definitely gotten the disease under control. My next course of action is to try bacteria-re-population¬†using probiotics, VSL #3 in particular. I am excited.

Mesalamine is standard treatment for this disease. The fact that I didn’t react so well to the medication is both disappointing and thought-provoking. If I don’t react well to that, is the problem more than just my colon? I think yes and I have theories on that… that I will go into another time.

I am so grateful for my husband who has been such a trooper and very patient with me. He deserves a medal for putting up with my poop-talk. I know it is so romantic.

If you want to know more, here are a few resources:

Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America

UCLA’s Center for Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Feel free to reach out, leave a comment, or tweet at me (@PhoenixRachel) with questions.

5 thoughts on “One Year (and some change) with Inflammatory Bowel Disease

  1. Pingback: The Anti Foods | Life in the Middle

    • I’ve become really good at making terrible puns and jokes about poop since this started. While after all the crying and seriousness got out of the way.

  2. Pingback: Drink: Ales of the Revolution | Life in the Middle

  3. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Life in the Middle

Leave a Reply

